01970 628725 menwww@aber.ac.uk

On Friday July 6, the Gwobrau Cyntaf Aber First Awards took place in the Old College, Aberystwyth, King Street. There were around 100 guests in attendance, from local businesses and members of the community alongside this year’s category sponsors and the overall sponsors, the EGO and Aberystwyth University.

There were ten award categories, each category reviewed by an independent panel of judges who gave us our three highly commended finalists. Each finalist was invited to attend the ceremony and the judges chose one as the overall category winner, for each category and the coveted Overall Winner Prize.

The night was a great success with everybody celebrating the Menter Aberystwyth area towns and community in style. We hope that all of the shortlisted finalists and winners had as good a night as Menter Aberystwyth did, and we hope we will see you all next year!

Our Winners and Highly Commended finalists for the 2018 Aber First Awards are:

Overall Winner

Aberystwyth Cycle Fest

Attracting Aberystwyth

Sponsored by Tynrhelyg Holiday Cottages


  • Aberystwyth Cycle Fest
  • Vale of Rheidol Railway
  • Arad Goch

Winner: Aberystwyth Cycle Fest

Entrepreneur of the Year

Sponsored by No 21 Flowers


  • John & Lynda Williams, of Coastal Vintage
  • Bethan Trevett, of Wonder Bar
  • Haka Entertainment

Winner: Haka Entertainment

Promoting the Arts Award

Sponsored by the Rock Project


  • Aberystwyth Arts Centre
  • Arad Goch
  • Bay Gallery

Winner: Aberystwyth Arts Centre

Customer Excellence Award

Sponsored by Aberystwyth Farmers’ Market


  • Care Society: Aberystwyth Mobility Scheme
  • Mandy Pilcher
  • Sophie Bach Cafe

Winner: Mandy Pilcher

Environmental Awareness

Sponsored by Driftwood Designs


  • Bwyd Dros Ben Aber Food Surplus
  • Carwyn Lloyd-Jones
  • Aberystwyth Beach Buddies

Winner: Bwyd Dros Ben Aber Food Surplus

Young Employee of the Year

Sponsored by Coleg Ceredigion College


  • Alwenna Jenkins
  • Haf Burrill
  • Phil Nixon

Winner: Haf Burrill

Community Contribution Award

Sponsored by St Michael’s Church


  • Aberystwyth Parkrun & Junior Parkrun
  • Penparcau Community Forum
  • Aberystwyth Arts Centre and Penparcau Community Together (APT)

Winner: Aberystwyth Parkrun & Junior Parkrun

Best Use of Online Media

Sponsored by Hughes Architects


  • Alexanders
  • Conrad’s Cabs
  • Tynrhyd Retreat

Winner: Tynrhyd Retreat

Wedding Bells Award

Sponsored by Gwesty’r Marine Hotel


  • Chez Louise Bridal
  • Calon Wedding Planning
  • No 21 Flowers

Winner: Calon Wedding Planning

Welsh Language Award

Sponsored by Gwe Cambrian Web


  • Arad Goch
  • Coffee #1
  • Siop y Pethe

Winner: Arad Goch

Menter Aberystwyth is extremely pleased to be able to organise the Aber First Awards each year. If you believe that there is a person or business in Aberystwyth and the surrounding area that deserves recognition for everything they do remember to nominate them for the 2019 Gwobrau Cyntaf Aber First Awards.