01970 628725 menwww@aber.ac.uk

The Board

The Board of Directors is made up of the following individuals, some representing our core partners and others who bring specific expertise and experience. There are currently 7 Board Members, who are involved on an entirely voluntary basis, and who each have a commitment in developing and promoting Aberystwyth:

Hannah Bunting

An Aberystwyth University graduate and now works for St Michael’s Church. Hannah’s current role involves working with young people both in a church and community setting – engaging with local schools and building links with the wider community. Hannah believes that Menter offers a good opportunity to create and grow a good community ethos in the town, making for a more positive surroundings to live and grow in.


Kerry Ferguson

Finance Director


Alex Hales

Board Member


Rosemary Rhys

Voluntary Sector Representative
Rosemary Rhys was one of the main organisers of the successful Castell Rock community festival held in the Aberystwyth Castle grounds. Rosemary was a senior planner with Ceredigion County Council and also assists in the family self catering holiday business. She strongly believes in Menter Aberystwyth’s potential as an organisation to establish events to attract visitors to the area, to develop links between businesses and organisations to improve marketing opportunities and to develop projects to promote and enhance the locality.


Cllr Mark Strong

Aberystwyth Town Council
Originally from Gresford near Wrexham, Mark graduated from Nene University College with a BA in Visual Art before moving to live and work in Finland. Moving to Aberystwyth in 2000 Mark has become fluent in Welsh and works in the National Library of Wales. Elected as a Town Councillor for Aberystwyth North Ward in 2004 and then as the County Councillor for North Ward, Aberystwyth in 2012; Mark has been active in the community being the Chair of Ceredigion Care Society and the Town Council’s representative on Menter Aberystwyth.


Brendan Somers

Aberystwyth Town Council


Sue Jones Davies

Aberystwyth Town Council



Sonia Dobson

Coleg Ceredigion
Sonia has been attending the Menter Aberystwyth Board, on which she sits as an observer on behalf of Coleg Ceredigion, since its incorporation in 2003. She has been an Aberystwyth resident since 1965. Sonia previously ran the Travel Service at Aberystwyth University organising the local and worldwide travel arrangements for students, staff and associated businesses. Since joining Coleg Ceredigion in 2001, she has been working with local businesses and has run a business network group. She is a member of the Aberystwyth Night Time Economy committee and was part of the group which gained Purple Flag Status for Aberystwyth. She currently advises on the statutory and customer care training required by businesses and organisations being responsible for arranging the work associated training courses throughout Ceredigion. Her involvement in the community includes being a member of Rotary supporting events and assisting local charities, a director of Wardens Dramatic Society Ltd. producing the annual Pantomime and now a retired member of three sporting clubs having represented Aberystwyth and Ceredigion in two of them.